YouTube ELT gap fill activities

Hi folks,

If you’re using the internet in your classroom and want a ready-made activity or song, then I’ve been working on some you may be interested in. YouTube now allows its users to add subtitles very easily to their own videos. So I set up a new account called “ELTgapfill” and have been creating some activities to be used in class. Most of them are gap fill activities and all the gaps appear on the video – no need for prep or handouts! Here’s one I did on body parts.

BUT: These subtitles won’t work if you download the video. They are only available if you watch the video on the internet. I have completed about 5 videos and will try and do more over the next few weeks. Let me know if there are any songs you would like me to do…

ps. I’m happy to show anyone else how this works if interested!

3 Responses to YouTube ELT gap fill activities

  1. guarany says:

    Thanks, Dave.
    This is indeed a cool feature. I was just wondering how long it took you to put the subtitles on this video.

    Fernando Guarany

  2. […] Dave’s post on Youtube gap fill activities, I’d also like to contribute with a practical idea: The Vagalume […]

  3. gringomaclure says:

    They took me about half an hour to do but Im getting quicker. The body parts one was a lot less as its quite short.

Leave a Reply

