Punctuation Predicament

I found this online today… Here is a letter with no punctuation after the greeting at the start. Ask your students to add punctuation to the letter. The only problem is, they could create a love letter or a hate letter! (see below for solutions).

Dear John:
I want a man who knows what love is all about you are generous kind thoughtful people who are not like you admit to being useless and inferior I have no love for other men I hope for you I feel nothing when we’re apart I can be forever happy will you let me be yours Gloria

Good Version
Dear John:
I want a man who knows what love is all about. You are generous, kind, thoughtful. People who are not like you admit to being useless and inferior. I have no love for other men. I hope for you. I feel nothing when we’re apart. I can be forever happy—will you let me be yours?
Gloria

Bad Version
Dear John:
I want a man who knows what love is. All about you are generous, kind, thoughtful people, who are not like you. Admit to being useless and inferior. I have no love. For other men, I hope. For you, I feel nothing. When we’re apart, I can be forever happy. Will you let me be?
Yours,
Gloria

One Response to Punctuation Predicament

  1. guarany says:

    Very interesting, Dave.
    I’m sure you’re familiar with the sentences:

    A woman without her man is nothing.
    A woman: without her, man is nothing.

    This could possibly be used as lead-in, I reckon.

Leave a Reply

